Interwoven (2021) is an immersive experience created by fungi about the relationship between humans and nature.

In Interwoven, the protagonist is a chunk of fungi. Electrical activity is measured from them. The fungus communicates within its own network through electrical pulses. This invisible language is translated into something we can see and hear: a projection and sound. This way, the fungus ‘speaks’ to the viewer.

If the fungus is touched, the effect can be seen in the projection and heard in the sound. This way, the visitor’s influence is noticeable, and the visitor cooperates with the fungus to make the projection move.

This installation is about the relationship between humans and nature. Are humans and nature too distanced from each other? Or are we one? By bringing visitors face to face with a fungus, we hope to establish a sense of connection with the fungus, and therefore to nature.

This work is my graduation work for Image and Media Technology at University of the Arts, Utrecht. It was nominated for a HKU Award, won the Awesome Utrecht prize and was officially selected for Dutch Design Week 2021.

Exhibited at:
︎︎︎Nature Talks - Museum de Fundatie, Zwolle
︎︎︎RE_NATURE - Den Bosch, Tramkade
︎︎︎Betweter Festival - Utrecht, Tivoli Vredenburg
︎︎︎Thanks, Machine | IMT Graduation Show - Utrecht, Stichting 16X
︎︎︎HKU Exposure - Online

Performed at:
︎︎︎Collegejaar Opening HKU - Utrecht, Tivoli Vredenburg
︎︎︎The Climate Miles Urgenda - KNMI De Bilt

Press releases:
︎︎︎Interview about Interwoven
︎︎︎Podcast about Interwoven
︎︎︎NRC feature

Collegejaar Opening HKU (2021)
Betweter Festival Aftermovie (2021) 
The Climate Miles Livestream (2021)

Re_Nature Festival Aftermovie (2021)


Interwoven (2021)

ARTISTS Lidewei Reitsma, Jonne Verheij SOUND Marijn Cinjee FUNGI SPONSOR PaddestoelenRijk FUNGI ADVICE Prof. Dr. Han Wösten, Dr Jan Dijksterhuis, Dr. Robert-Jan Bleichrodt SPECIAL THANKS TO Melanie Kandelaars, Juli Laczkó, Job van Nuenen, Martijn van Gessel, Goran Goldin, Cyrille Bloemers, Wiam Al-Zabari, Ronald Nijhof, René Lansink, Jaap Reitsma, Jan ten Cate, Mik Witte, Lenno Verhoog, Kas Houthuijs, Shirley Niemans, Joris Besselink, Awesome Utrecht